... okay, maybe not "the brink" because that implies a sort of immediacy about the situation. But I'm anticipating being led astray from the path of good next year with the release of Brink, an FPS due to be released early-mid 2011. It seems perfect - contrasting slum/futuristic dystopian setting, clashing distinguishable sides, parkour-style gameplay and customization by the BOATLOAD. If you aren't sold yet, you will be after this:
I'm probably go security, using the style of the bug with one of these semi-auto weapons they're trying to pass as sniper rifles - that's right, this has got to be one of the only FPS games devoid of snipers. Apparently it was an attempt by the developers to eliminate camp tactics, but I think it's a little harsh on those of us who enjoy the more combat/assault playstyle of sniping.
I've recently taken a liking to a couple bands of the alternative/indie-ish genre, the one you probably won't have heard of being Operatic. A neat little band who featured on the soundtrack to a Tony Hawk's PS2 game years ago, they still never received the attention they deserved. They remained incredibly obscure, even the link to buy their album on their myspace doesn't work. Ladies & gentlemen, the musical stylings of Operatic:
The other band is The Naked and Famous, a band from here in New Zealand. If you've never heard of them, you either a) live under a rock or b) don't live in New Zealand. It's impossible to escape their music because it's played to death on the radio and TV - good job I rarely listen to the radio or watch music television, or I'd get sick of their great music and feel really bad about it. They've been around the local scene a few years but the single that shot them to fame was Young Blood. I don't think many people appreciated it for how well-written and extraordinary it was, and it was simply thought of as "OMG YAY, CATCHY POP ANTHEM ABOUT ME AS A YOUNG PERSON AND OH HEY, BLOOD EQUALS TWILIGHT". Their debut album Passive Me, Aggressive You is a surprisingly solid release for a New Zealand band, and worth checking out. My personal favorite track had a video made - ladies & gentlemen, I present to you Punching In A Dream:
There's a large amount of videos on this post, please apologize to your bandwidth on behalf on myself. I also went to see Parkway Drive, The Devil Wears Prada, The Ghost Inside and Antagonist AD a week and a bit ago on the 17th. To be honest, I could have died leaving The Ghost Inside's pit, and died a very happy man. I've been waiting for them to come down here for ages, and they didn't disappoint. They were fun, energetic and pumping, and had a very good crowd reaction from the musically uneducated majority of New Zealanders who had never heard of them.
I was at the front right in the beginning, shouting along the words to Unspoken, when Vigil saw me, pointed and smiled - the fanboy inside me wept beautiful tears. I also had post-set sweaty manhugs with KC and Vigil. Vigil was a little hesitant because he was getting swamped by fans and well-wishers, but KC came out during TDWP's set and hung around to chat. Thanks boys, probably best show of my life. My only complaint is that the crowd were a bunch of faux-metalhead d-bags who were headbanging at a hardcore show... I don't even need to explain further. TGI's setlist went Unspoken, Destined, Shiner, Greater Distance, Between The Lines, Provoke and Faith Or Forgiveness. Chrono and Disintegrator would have topped off the awesomeness, but I'm not going to complain.
Opinions on the MAG beta's weapons.
I gave pretty detailed opinions of everything in the beta except the weaponry, so here I shall explain how I regard the arsenal added to MAG for the beta. Performance doesn't vary much between the guns so this is mostly about aesthetics.
GOTHA ELITE
a.k.a. "the Gotha"
I'm not sure where I get the notion from, but I'm sure if Batman had to use a gun he'd use the Gotha. It's a ninja's assault rifle - accurate, quick, and with a silencer it's, well... silent. I find that if I get ninja'd by an enemy, and they have the Gotha, I accept it easier because, well hey, they're a ninja. Then I find them. And kill them. And take their Gotha.
TAMSEN MK2
a.k.a. "ol' Tamsie"
Aaah, ol' Tamsie. Never quite cut it for me. I found it to have poorer accuracy than it's counterparts, and I'd much rather just run with SVER's AG or AK. Plus I always thought it looked a little funny. I still may pick it up from time to time.
M31 CIR
a.k.a. "that ACR"
I quickly warmed up to that ACR, it's performance is great - even without any of the assault abilities I could still get a hell of a lot of kills with it. It does what an assault rifle should do. I found it's effectiveness in CQC and mid-range limited, making close-range combat it's niche.
KINMARK SRS
a.k.a. "THE KINMAARRK, serious"
I LOVE THE KINMARK. Not sure why, maybe it's 'cause I've always been a sucker for bull-pup design guns in MAG (though it has 2 magazines, weird huh?). It's sleek and black and satisfying to use. I don't necessarily do that well with it, but it's still great fun. Now that Raven have the Gotha, and now this, I might have to vet there to stay...
RUBAKHO SVR
a.k.a. "the Rhubarb-o"
The Rhubarb-o, meh. As with 'ol Tamsie, SVER weaponry let me down again and just didn't cut it. It performed well enough - it's just a downright ugly weapon. It looks seaworthy, like an ocean freighter made of bad rhubarb impaled on a colossal metal rod. The whole thing felt like it may fall apart every time I fired a shot or reloaded, I found that I just prefer the aesthetics of the S-98 (which doesn't look like it's going to fall over with a high-power scope).
SENTINEL M421
a.k.a. "the mini-Rollins"
Mini-Rollins... forget what I said about vetting to Raven to stay, the Sentinel has secured my heart back in Valor. I was a bit iffy about it at first. The scope is ridiculously close to the headrest, it feels like it takes up the whole damn screen (but you don't hip-fire bolt-actions, so no problem there). The sound of it firing, reloading, cocking... it all felt kinda flimsy. But that's all part of the Sentinel's charm, it's like the hunting bow of MAG sniper rifles. Throw a suppressor, bipod and variable scope onto it with lvl 3 zoom and you've got my new favorite sniper setup.
KP21
a.k.a. "hey, a flamethrower"
HOLY CRAP, what a gun. It fires like CHUGGA CHUGGA CHUGGA. This was the first new MMG I used, so it was the one I was most excited about. At range it's downright useless, but those who come against you with one of these in your hands at close-quarters better pray to the Gods that you don't tear them to utter shreds. It's especially fun to pretend it's a flamethrower (hey, it nearly looks like one) and run head-long into your enemy at point-blank range, never releasing the trigger. Hey, he just crapped his pants.
ARIET SFW
a.k.a. "MAG's Companion Cube"
Yet again, another underwhelming SVER weapon in terms of performance (poor SVER getting the shaft with beta weapons). I like the Companion Cube though, it has a certain charm. Charm being that using it looks like you're carrying a box that GLOWS PINK (hence the Portal reference). I'm no good with gun terminology, but the hatch where you unload the magazine into has glowing pink screws, and a face of the inside radiates brightly pink when you go to reload. This glitch will probably get fixed, which is a bit of a shame. PS. it sounds nice.
M245
a.k.a. "I CAN BE RAMBO, HUR"
I've not yet used much of the Rambo gun, but sweet merciful mother of MAG this gun is huge. Good job Valor are muscly, tank-top wearing macho men (who were founded by the Village People), otherwise they could hardly lift it. From my experiences using it, unless you're a bipod MG kinda person it's HIGHLY impractical to use, but you feel like a badass using it with a foregrip.
a.k.a. "the Gotha"
I'm not sure where I get the notion from, but I'm sure if Batman had to use a gun he'd use the Gotha. It's a ninja's assault rifle - accurate, quick, and with a silencer it's, well... silent. I find that if I get ninja'd by an enemy, and they have the Gotha, I accept it easier because, well hey, they're a ninja. Then I find them. And kill them. And take their Gotha.
a.k.a. "ol' Tamsie"
Aaah, ol' Tamsie. Never quite cut it for me. I found it to have poorer accuracy than it's counterparts, and I'd much rather just run with SVER's AG or AK. Plus I always thought it looked a little funny. I still may pick it up from time to time.
a.k.a. "that ACR"
I quickly warmed up to that ACR, it's performance is great - even without any of the assault abilities I could still get a hell of a lot of kills with it. It does what an assault rifle should do. I found it's effectiveness in CQC and mid-range limited, making close-range combat it's niche.
a.k.a. "THE KINMAARRK, serious"
I LOVE THE KINMARK. Not sure why, maybe it's 'cause I've always been a sucker for bull-pup design guns in MAG (though it has 2 magazines, weird huh?). It's sleek and black and satisfying to use. I don't necessarily do that well with it, but it's still great fun. Now that Raven have the Gotha, and now this, I might have to vet there to stay...
a.k.a. "the Rhubarb-o"
The Rhubarb-o, meh. As with 'ol Tamsie, SVER weaponry let me down again and just didn't cut it. It performed well enough - it's just a downright ugly weapon. It looks seaworthy, like an ocean freighter made of bad rhubarb impaled on a colossal metal rod. The whole thing felt like it may fall apart every time I fired a shot or reloaded, I found that I just prefer the aesthetics of the S-98 (which doesn't look like it's going to fall over with a high-power scope).
a.k.a. "the mini-Rollins"
Mini-Rollins... forget what I said about vetting to Raven to stay, the Sentinel has secured my heart back in Valor. I was a bit iffy about it at first. The scope is ridiculously close to the headrest, it feels like it takes up the whole damn screen (but you don't hip-fire bolt-actions, so no problem there). The sound of it firing, reloading, cocking... it all felt kinda flimsy. But that's all part of the Sentinel's charm, it's like the hunting bow of MAG sniper rifles. Throw a suppressor, bipod and variable scope onto it with lvl 3 zoom and you've got my new favorite sniper setup.
a.k.a. "hey, a flamethrower"
HOLY CRAP, what a gun. It fires like CHUGGA CHUGGA CHUGGA. This was the first new MMG I used, so it was the one I was most excited about. At range it's downright useless, but those who come against you with one of these in your hands at close-quarters better pray to the Gods that you don't tear them to utter shreds. It's especially fun to pretend it's a flamethrower (hey, it nearly looks like one) and run head-long into your enemy at point-blank range, never releasing the trigger. Hey, he just crapped his pants.
a.k.a. "MAG's Companion Cube"
Yet again, another underwhelming SVER weapon in terms of performance (poor SVER getting the shaft with beta weapons). I like the Companion Cube though, it has a certain charm. Charm being that using it looks like you're carrying a box that GLOWS PINK (hence the Portal reference). I'm no good with gun terminology, but the hatch where you unload the magazine into has glowing pink screws, and a face of the inside radiates brightly pink when you go to reload. This glitch will probably get fixed, which is a bit of a shame. PS. it sounds nice.
a.k.a. "I CAN BE RAMBO, HUR"
I've not yet used much of the Rambo gun, but sweet merciful mother of MAG this gun is huge. Good job Valor are muscly, tank-top wearing macho men (who were founded by the Village People), otherwise they could hardly lift it. From my experiences using it, unless you're a bipod MG kinda person it's HIGHLY impractical to use, but you feel like a badass using it with a foregrip.
MAG beta-rification
The MAG beta dropped recently, to just about some of the mixed responses I've seen in my life. Being an online-only game the community is vital which is why the feedback and opinions have been flooding in. There's the good and the bad by the fistfuls, but I'll take the time to detail my own personal opinions.
The Good!
I'll start with the new game mode, Escalation. In particular, the maps. Just wow. These maps are superbly designed - leaps and bounds different that anything else in MAG. Barren, open, rolling hills dotted with buildings that aesthetically remind one of BF2142 - they're a lot of fun, and with the game mode being so chaotic it's hard to know where anything is coming from. Though the gameplay of Escalation is a little shaky, it's still fun and I'm sure it'll settle down once people get a grasp of it.
Now the weapons. I've given all decent time, trying out the (beastly) Kinmark, Sentinel, KP21, Gotha and Tamsen. Overall impression is that they are a welcome addition to the game, and once straightened out by the beta I'll be sure to pick 'em up. I've taken a particular interest in the sniper rifles - instantly falling in love with the Kinmark. The Sentinel however... I dunno, it just feels flimsy and small. I'll give it more time, and next play around I'll try to use SVER's Rhubarb-o or whatever it's called. The new MMGs are superb, their slow rate of fire and appalling hip-fire accuracy mean they actually take skill to use: they certainly aren't n00bish run-n-gun weapons. As for the assault rifles, well, I'm not as ecstatic about them as I am the snipers but I'd still pick one up over one of the older rifles, especially the Gotha. I definitely think Raven got the better deal with beta weaponry.
And finally the new skill tree system. I thought MAG had great customisation as it was - this new tree takes it even further. The sheer amount of abilities to work on is astounding, and the fact you can choose the degree to which you perfect a skill makes for an even more personalised experience than before. It's execution is flawless - forcing players to make hard decisions and restrict the areas they specialise in - no more jacks-of-all-trades. Myself personally, I can no longer have all the sniper abilities, medical abilities, CQC abilities, athleticism abilities and electronics abilities like I used to - when compared to the old system we grew used to you have to make sacrifices, perhaps disadvantaging yourself in some aspect to gain advantage in another. Some may be angry about this but I take it as a challenge. Now, as a sniper, if I'm bested in a knife fight by a commando I can at least acknowledge that hey, it's his speciality, not mine.
The Bad...
First up - I love the implemention of the sprint abilities and the improved knife damage. Together though it's just getting ridiculous. You have people zipping across rooms and knifing you in the foot, killing you before your brain has even managed to register that they exist. I like the speed upgrades to an extent, and the knifes definitely needed altering, but if both were to be toned down a bit then they'd be perfect.
Next up is the Supply Depot addition. Don't get me wrong, I think it's a great idea. What I have an issue with are the level requirements and the costs of some of these things. Some of the requirements need to be a lot less harsh - this game is was difficult for newcomers as it was. If some of the costs and level requirements were lowered, even slightly just to make them a little less steep, I'd be all for the Supply Depot. Plus some of the items need better descriptions, some of the less-experienced players will have no idea what they're buying.
And finally the re-spec point system to accompany the new skill tree. Not only is it now 5000 no matter what, re-spec points don't stack. Once you reach 5000, that's it - it stops, and if you want to re-spec again you have to have gathered another 5000. Zipper need to make prices and costs in the beta a little less dire, it's totally ridiculous what newbies are having to put up with.
All in all I'm looking forward to where the beta is going. It's got a different feel to the retail version, a little more polished as an FPS, and for MAG it's a change for the good.