Highlights of 2010

Heck, did one last year, figured I may as well give my mentions to the things released this year that impressed me enough to merit a post of appreciation!

MY TOP 3 ALBUM RELEASES OF THE YEAR:

#3: Norma Jean - Meridonial
A band whose career crashed & burned long ago in my eyes. Beginning years ago with the classic release Bless the Martyr & Kiss the Child, the band progressively began to lose their flair. The next couple releases presented a few stand-out tracks as the band dived further from their purely chaotic math roots into a more experimental realm. It was 2008's vs. The Anti Mother that hammered the final nail in their coffin. Undeniably a powerful effort deep with emotion, it was just plagued with a leniency towards the same-old, same-old. It was at this point I thought that Norma Jean had finally hit their creative rut.

Hearing of a new release, I was all but stoked. I expected them to continue their downhill ride with Meridonial, it took me a few months to get around to giving it a good listening. I was blown away. Finally, the sound they'd been trying to develop with previous efforts had surfaced. The band had taken these once bland experimental tones that dotted their mathcore mess and refined them into a spine-chillingly atmospheric & melodic element. The result is an album that scales the heights of chaotic, chugging metalcore; and combines it with the strange mix of minimalism & complexity of post-metal, with the very slightest pinches of sludge, doom and progressive metal. A truly haunting experience, and though it doesn't match the ingenuity of their first album, it's on-par in terms of intensity.

#2: This or the Apocalypse - Haunt What's Left
A much needed breath or fresh air, and undeniably incredible leap onto the metalcore scene. A band that musically leans more closely towards their melodic death metal influence, but still managing to retain the honesty, sincerity and unity locked into the spirit of hardcore music. There's little to ramble about with this album; it's just a straight-up good release, basically flawless. Save for the weak track or two, it's a solidly & consistently epic, cathartic, sensory journey; fast-paced ride through the most soaring of shreds and crushing of chugs in modern metalcore.

#1: The Ghost Inside - Returners
Don't tell me you couldn't see this coming! It was easily my most anticipated release for the year, and managed to exceed all expectations. After 2008's Fury & the Fallen Ones, which blew everybody away as it was, most didn't expect anything better from The Ghost Inside. In fact many expected the album to fall short of the standards set by the previous album. Month after month passed beyond when the album was expected. Was it for mastering? Hype? Who knows. The wait was agonizing, but either way it made the album all the more sweet in the end.

The band dropped tracks as a sneak peek. Then full album leaked. Before the album had been physically released it had already been heralded by many as the album of the year, lyrics memorized and last.fm scrobbles through the roof. The band had successfully managed an album that was faster, heavier, slower, more melodic, more solid, more epic and more heartfelt. An album to go down in the annals of hardcore history. A masterpiece in every way. An album I'm sure I'm never to forget; even when CDs are abolished and all the latest music is projected by laser beams into your eyes, I'll still sit back and think "it's good, but it's no Returners".


MY TOP 3 GAME RELEASES OF THE YEAR:

#3 - Just Cause 2
Why JC2? Just 'cause! Oh c'mon, it had to be done. In all seriousness, the game lacks mission depth or a gripping storyline, but what it does present to us, the gamer, is fun. And it's a game, isn't that what it's about? Fact is, this game isn't just great, it's jaw-droppingly impressive. Set in the fictional Panau in south-east Asia, after a few orientation mission it lets you loose on the large expanse of the group of islands, free to roam, with nothing but an arm-mounted grappling hook and the world's supply of parachutes in your backpack.

Sure you could do that mission... or you could climb that mountain. Hijack a speedboat. Create trouble with the military. Get lost in a jungle. The pure size and detail of the map alone is enough to merit appreciation, Avalanche have created something worth a hearty handshake and a pat on the back.

#2 - Lost Planet 2
Not having played the first game, what little expectations I had of this game had been presented by a reasonably bare multiplayer demo released earlier in the year. It presented challenging fun but didn't draw more than a couple plays by myself, with the requirement of playing online not meriting the enjoyment of the demo (nor giving the game justice in my internet's case). The game itself is incredible fun, essentially taking the form of your average dark, gritty Third-Person Shooter and combining it with the fun (and quite tongue-in-cheek & humorous) platform/arcade style Capcom is so famous for.

A campaign mode (though the story isn't complex, it gets the thumbs up for originality) that can be played solo with AI or cooperatively online with friends or other players, a online multiplayer mode consisting of numerous games, a training mode alongside AI battles, and customization by the metric butt-crapton (always a plus in my books) as progress your cross-mode character... this game offers plenty of replay value, through the sheer variety of things that can changed and ways it can be played. A solid release that I struggle to find any flaws with; it's just simple fun.

#1 - MAG
You all saw it coming. Despite having not even been out for a year, it's the game I've dedicated the most amount of time to in my entire life. Hundreds of hours, devoted to participating an awe-inspiringly immense war across the 3 factions. A game that as it stands is perfect, let down only by the negative element of the community and the obvious issues encountered by online gameplay. Perhaps a vision too lofty for games of this current generation, the game has experience hefty shortcomings by no fault of the developers. No, Zipper have kept the game churning admirably, making some great changes (mostly of their own accord), and some terrible (mostly instigated by the previously mentioned community). Fact is it's impossible to have a game like this be perfect taking into consideration the demographic and common behavioral tendencies of the players, and the heavy technical difficulties.

Despite all of these issues standing staunchly in MAG's opposition, the game has still provided me with the greatest gaming experiences I've ever had. It turned the FPS genre (with all it's cookie-cutter repetitive games) and tried to do something outlandish and brave. And though here it sits, many patches later and still with it's odd flaws... I wouldn't have it any other way, or play any other game.


2010 IN REFLECTION: TIPS OF THE HAT, WAGS OF THE FINGER

Indie pop star Ellie Goulding.
A congratulations for making it big with her unique and beautiful sound in an area of music generally occupied by the blandest, most over-produced and marketable drivel we as humans can offer. Ellie showed me that pop music doesn't have to be all that bad, and can actually be executed with a degree of musical talent (in both performance and composition) and a flair of originality & complexity. A girl with the gently warbling voice of an angel and the hands and mind to write and play heartfelt and interesting music. Definitely admirable characteristics, and certainly welcome on my radio and TV. Bright Lights is genius. Did I mention she's great? She's great.

Those wacky Japanese in Fact.
They received a mention here last year after announcing & recording a full-length album barely 8 months since the release of their previous. The album release came and went much earlier this year, but was such a great release it certainly deserves a mention here nearly a year later. In my opinion probably their best to date, it's astounding they managed to create such a brilliant album in such a short time frame, having dropped jaws once already earlier that year. Many a kudos was deserved.

Canadian hardcore legends Comeback Kid.
For the past 5 years or so, I've not been able to pick a favorite CBK album. Each album over the span of their career has been equally as amazing, with their respective stand-out tracks and unique style to each. Finally though, with the release of Symptoms + Cures mid/late this year, they finally released the album to overshadow anything previous. A solid sing-along, fist-pumping anthem from start to finish, each song as spine-tinglingly intense and adrenalin-pumping as the last. Certainly a band that's matured with age, and in their case it's a maturing for the better.

A Day To Remember, becoming a band to forget.
Last year I hurled the insults at ADTR for releasing what I believed to be the let-down of a lifetime. Homesick was generic, repetitive, with very few stand-out tracks. Nowhere near on the same caliber as previous releases. I take it back. It took the band an ever FURTHER step backward, a steeper slip downhill, to realise that Homesick really isn't that bad. There are worse things in this world, more dangerous things that should cause us to fear for the safety of ourselves and our loved ones.

This year's What Separates Me From You has got to be one of the downright worst albums I have ever heard from a band of such huge promise. Words I use frequently surface describing this album... bland, repetitive, same-old, cookie-cutter... never before have such terms rang so true. The first time I sat down to give the album a good listen, well, I didn't. Half an hour and it all went completely over my head. And the next listen, and the next listen... it's just boring, substanceless, sugar-coated crap; even my Homesick (and general cheesy & happy pop/alternative) adoring girlfriend couldn't stand What Separates Me From You. You know your post-hardcore band's hit rock-bottom when even teenage girls think you're terrible.


All in all, a pretty dece year. No "Best Of" compilation tis year, go listen to the music for yourselves you lazy good-for-nothings.

This (weather is) the Apocalypse...

Okay, I know it's been a while. And I know the title is stupid. But it's a million degrees, the humidity's through the roof, and to be honest with what little will I have I've found it hard enough to pull myself away from MAG, let alone tap a bunch of pieces of plastic stuck to a metal slab in quick succession to form something cohesive (in fact, I'm only here because the MAG servers are undergoing maintenance). Well here goes.

Another band I've re-discovered are chaotic, melodic, tech-ie metalcore band This or the Apocalypse. It's a similar story as my discovery of The Ghost Inside; recommended to me through last.fm, I check out some of their music. I am somewhat impressed, if not pass it off with a mildly-interested "meh". The weeks go on, when suddenly out of the blue I have a "what the crap is this heaven-sent music and how did it get into my library?!" moment.

It hit me. Sounding vaguely at first (to the very mindless listener) like your average christian metalcore, or an easily-accessible melodic death metal band, it hit me how epic, pumping, melodic and technical their music is. No longer did the songs simply go over my head, now each was a fist-pumping, head-banging, lung-rippingly sing-along anthem, and though I didn't partake in any of the previously mentioned activities, I'd totally to all 3 if it was possible without your head exploding; from both the awesomeness of your actions and the music that's making you do it.

So for now I'll just sit here with my headphones in, bass up, nodding my head & tapping my foot along, and just leaving these here...

A year of nothing!

Well guys and gals, it's been a year. The blog's lasted much longer than any other I've done. This is also the 60TH POST! Which is hardly a milestone but shut up. It's satisfying. The blog seems to have been kept alive primarily as a testing grounds for small-scale design and coding, with random babblings to keep it up & running. I have no idea how many people have read it, or will come to read it, but I really don't care.

In celebration I present yet another post of "you must hear" material, today lenient towards detailing a new area of music I've very slowly started move to into; that of Indie Pop. As a genre it seems reasonably present on the international stage, it's a shame it's not more prominent down here the times I'm forced to listen to and/or watch mainstream music broadcasting. I've only managed to come across these 4 artists through chance happenings (not the Naked & Famous so much).



It all starts with Windmill's Puddle City Racing Lights. This happened a year or so ago, having recently begun an off-root into post-rock and the general turning point of my musical taste into one more... open-minded, I suppose. I'm on another one of my Real Groovy ridiculous alternative sale section excursions (from which I commonly emerge with little gems), nearing the end of my journey as I near the end of browsing the alphabet, when I come across an album with intriguing cover art. The artist, album and track names don't drop any hints, I've no idea what to expect.

I was laughed at by those in the car at the time when the CD was placed into the stereo. Windmill's voice is... a little weedy sounding to say the least. However if you're the kind of person who's open-minded when it comes to vocals then you learn to love all his warbles and love, most of all, his incredible music. Quirky, almost experimental songs led by his piano, commonly featuring strings, a distorted drum kit, some electronics and a metric butt-crapton of backing vocals. The whole album has a heartwarming feel to it, the kind of music to put a smile on your face on the drabbest and rainy city days.



Next comes New Zealand's very own the Naked and Famous, with their album Passive Me + Aggressive You. This band became impossible to avoid earlier this year, with their single "Young Blood" flooding the airwaves, to the point of being over-played and despised. At first, the song went right over my head. As the weeks went on, the song stuck, and I started to enjoy it along with the rest of their music.

The album has since grown to sound a bit samey, with a few songs heavily out-shining others. These gems are what make the album worth listening to however, and spread out enough it provides for an enjoyable listening experience. The album feels written in hindsight of a childhood lost, and provokes great feeling of longing and nostalgia, paired with feelings of appreciation and satisfaction of the times gone, and the joy that follows.



Shortly following was a dive into the poppier side with Ellie Goulding's Lights. It was basically the same deal here as with TNAF, except Ellie's single "Starry Eyed" aired much less frequently. During the height of her popularity I may have heard or seen the single once a day on the radio or television, and I wouldn't have been surprised to not see head or tail of her at all. She still emerged every now and then and the single grew on me, not quite as infectiously or dramatically as TNAF, but enough to spark interest and check out her full album. Why Starry Eyed was chosen as a single in beyond me, as certainly it's one of her weaker songs.

Fact is, Ellie Goulding's music stands out from the rest of pop music. Her songs are complex, with uncommon, unconventional keys and intervals leading to a strange, dream-like tone to her music. She provides thick melodies between guitar, piano and synths, and beautiful harmonies through her layered vocals. All with a glimmering, glistening tone from a dash of electronics. To top it off, her lyrics alternate between the down to earth and sincere, and seeming like the creation of a hopeful dreamer with their head in the clouds. The end result is an album that is truly magical, on an overall musical scale, let alone in the pop music scene.


Ellie disable embeding of this particular video on Youtube (why?!), so here's Dailymotion as a bit of a change for ya.


The finale in my journey of discovery so far is The Family Jewels by Marina & the Diamonds. Another entry into the poppier side of this music, possibly more so than Ellie Goulding (I'd also guess she's even more into the glitz & glitter side too, if that's possible). Yet I'm hesitant to say that because, well, her music is... odd. A little inconsistent. Incredibly experimental and strange for something that was last.fm's #15 most played artist this year. Perhaps her eclecticism describes the incredible absence of her music down here, perhaps too avant-garde for New Zealands' relatively musically uneducated ears. I've heard her music twice this year; both times on C4 (NZ's music television), on shows past-or-borderline midnight.

The first time I heard her single "Mowgli's Road" I almost couldn't believe it. I'm not sure if the music or the video weirded me out more; both seemed to counter-balance each other and the whole experience felt rather surreal to somebody barely awake. It was the second viewing of the music video that stirred me into action, and I decided I had to hear the rest of the album. The result is an incredibly... different... well, that's all there is too it really. She obviously pulls a lot of influence and knowledge from a lot of sources and compiles it into a reasonably consistent pop album. I use the term "pop" loosely, as I mean it in the most literal of senses; her music is popular, but the link between her music and the general, mutually accepted sound of "pop music" is very slim.

I bet Arsonists Get All The Girls get all the girls

A recent re-discovery of mine has been that of a parodic experimental deathcore band named, as you'd probably have gathered from the title, Arsonists Get All The Girls. Instantly their name implies a tongue-in-cheek mentality, which is precisely what AGATG deliver. Get standard run-of-the-mill deathcore and deck it out with as many zany, wacky, near-progressive elements to take it as over the top as possible, and you have an accurate description of their sound. The band has apparently made the effort to state their somewhat joke-band status; they don't take themselves seriously, and don't expect to take them seriously. Despite existing for what appears to be the laughs, they create some quality, fun, unpredictable music, and I've hardly been able to get enough. Seriously, that's why there's 4 videos. They're actually different, original and catchy enough to merit 4 videos. Check it out.


School's out... FOREVER

Blog's been a little dead (what's new?), and it's because at the beginning of the month I was wrapping up all my schoolwork that was due in and I've since been enjoying a "holiday holiday". That is, the last 2 weeks or so have been spent plugged into the PS3, the computer, the TV or whatever else I can plug myself into, slobbing around and generally avoiding all work possible. High school's finished, and for the first time in 13 years I get to have a holiday where I don't have to worry about next year because there will never be school again. Ever. Sure, there's university, but that hardly counts.

Tash & I get our party faces on!

Even whilst I'm on holiday, however, there's still some degree of responsibility. After my "holiday holiday" it's on to learning how to drive, cleaning up around the house, putting finishing touches on a client's website and pulling out the visual diary to do some sketches in preparation for next year. For those who hadn't heard, I've been accepted into AUT's Bachelor of Design course, more specifically Graphic Design, and more specifically I think I may take the path of illustration. It's been years since I drew anything so I'm going to try get in some practice, but it sure beats the oft-boring typographic style (we learn the basics, and that's enough for me) or wrestling with CSS in web design.

My final poster for Art Design. I didn't like it.

I'm impressed with the work I've done, despite often being absent due to work experience or illness and losing a USB stick containing a couple week's solid work, as far as I know I've still obtained NCEA lvl 3 and University Entrance, and was accepted into a course outright without having to attend an interview. I'm not the kind of person to hold a high opinion of themselves, or any quantity of self-esteem at all really, so this all has been a nice surprise and is helping to eliminate some of the intimidation of facing a degree.

Photo of menu in use. I liked it.

Not just a club about fighting...

I recently wrote this film review for my English through Film class. It does sound a bit waffley because, well, I was waffling. It was obviously passable enough to get a high mark, and I figured there haven't been many reviews on this blog so I may as well post in that area. It's a bit of a late, lazy post for this month but you'll get over it.

If you're anything like me, you'll approach Fight Club with all the wrong ideas and assumptions. If you're anything like me, you'll have heard the various stories on the news over the last 10 years; all the youths caught beating each other, citing the film as the main influence for their actions. It was even advertised simply as a film about underground boxing, helping reinforce an undesirable reputation for the film. If you're anything like me, you'll approach Fight Club expecting a film, as the name and reputation suggest, about men slugging it out against each other - a festival of mindless violence, possibly littered with vague themes of masculinity. And if you're anything like me, after watching it, Fight Club will blow your mind wide open.

I will tell you now, Fight Club is not just a club about fighting, and your ideas and assumptions couldn't possibly be more wrong. The film is an intricately-written tale serving as a satirical commentary of modern western society. Due to the nature by which it was advertised, it was not received as well as hoped (or as well as it should have), as it was marketed towards the wrong audience. The testosterone-fuelled, violence-glorifying males the majority of the audience consisted of could not dive beyond the (unexpectedly minimal, given the title) fighting; to absorb the film's message or interpret it correctly. And those who would have enjoyed interpreting the intellectual elements, were otherwise deterred by this bad advertising.

Fight Club is many things. Action, drama, black comedy… people debate its genre, but what it essentially boils down to is a psychological thriller, following the life of a narrator (Edward Norton) who though remains nameless in the film, comes to be known as Jack. His painfully plain life begins taking the most unpredictable of turns. First insomnia, then support groups, the arrival of a despised Marla Fisher (Helena Bonham Carter), and finally meeting carefree soap salesman Tyler Durden (Brad Pitt) on a business trip.

The film is an interpretation of Fight Club, a novel written by Chuck Palahniuk, who claims the movie is actually an improvement over his work. Interpreting novels into films is risky business. It was made riskier by the raw, uncensored nature of the book and the project nearly didn't take off. The story is original, complex and unconventional, and as such demanded high performance from its actors, and they all performed superbly. Norton (American History X, The Incredible Hulk) captures perfectly the jaded nature of his character and contrasts it well with his shift into “enlightenment”. Pitt (Se7en, Ocean's Eleven) convincingly plays Tyler, down to the tiniest details of his persuasive, dominant nature and questionable sanity; he absorbs the audience with such power it feels as though he's directing his speeches right into your mind. Jack describes Marla as “the scratch on the roof of your mouth”, and Bonham Carter (Sweeney Todd, Harry Potter) certainly manages to generate similar loathing & despise in the viewer.

Fight Club is dark, as dark and depressing as modern life comes. Once you become engrossed in the brooding overtone it establishes, the violence it contains becomes almost tame (though still horrific). This dank atmosphere is established through the film's stunning, artistically-crafted cinematography. Not a single shot seems out of place. When the film needs to be dark, drab, gritty or even smoggy through the sunlight of the city, it is exactly that. No attempts were made to clean up the grain-like texture of the footage post-production, and some measures were taken to dirty its appearance. The result is a film that manages to feel consistently dark and dismal.

The thing with Fight Club is that to most first-time viewers its totally overwhelming; it takes a broad swing at western society and the corporations, striking at so many aspects of the lives of its victims, that alongside the complex plot and incredible twist, it becomes a bit much to take in all at once. The film essentially deals with consumerism, and its effect on masculinity. Jack has been raised by this society, a society that markets to males such as himself what being a man is about, and to pursue completion through material possessions. Tyler appears in the story as a prophet of sorts, to show Jack life without material possessions, without a white-collar job and without completion. Tyler's philosophy; self-improvement is for the weak, whilst self-destruction is the true path to enlightenment, is essentially what sparks the creation of the fight club. A place for men dissatisfied with the life marketed to them by the corporations and the media to release, to vent. An extreme form of psychiatric treatment, a cathartic experience like none other. The emphasis of the fight club is not to cause harm to somebody else, it is to feel harm and pain yourself. The emphasis is to feel, in a society that jades.

It is here where Fight Club becomes misunderstood. Rather than appreciate the messages it portrays, its artistic treatment and well-written story, it seems many are under the impression it simply glorifies violence - both those who have seen it and those who haven't. The film is not about fighting for fighting's sake; it dives beyond, and explores the reasons behind it. Don't get me wrong, by no means do I believe Fight Club is an all's-well, smiles-and-sunshine positive film. But at the same time, not much of it seems exaggerated. People are assaulted. People suffer illnesses. People die. Fight Club does not create a fictional world so much as expose the darker side of our own. And that is precisely the director's purpose; to stop the audience, open their eyes and make them think. To get them to take a look around at the things that surround them every day and to realise how insignificant they are made by the corporations, brands and media industries they have grown to become so heavily reliant upon.

Just some designs...

It's been a while, figured I'd post some stuff in the artsy department. One KINMARK serious, one not-so srs.

Continuing on with my art design schoolwork for the year, a sandwich board for the fictional restaurant Konaya. I'm trying mix in elements of the traditional, through the parchment-esque colour and a traditional print; with a modern approach through the highly-contrasting white; all whilst trying to adhere to the minimalist and simple nature the Japanese are known to favor.

Yenno, just in case you ever wondered.

The Acacia Strain not boring? Madness!

The Acacia Strain are one of those bands I've always been a bit "meh" about. My listening of TAS goes back to when I was a new kid to the whole hardcore scene; it was 2008, and I'd been to my first ever small-scale hardcore show with an international band, Blacklisted. Another show had been announced at the same venue for the end of the year with A Day To Remember and none other than TAS, and though I'd never heard either of the bands I was still excited and gave both a listen.

Being the melodic pop-punk fan I was, ADTR certainly held my interest more. TAS were the first "deathcore" band I'd ever heard; until then my listening habits had never dived to such dark depths. I wasn't used to the comparatively negative and angsty nature of their music, but their epic song "Smoke Ya Later" with it's melodic overtones and fun nature (breakdowns with clapping always win) really impressed me, it provided a good means of entry to the darker world of death metal-lenient hardcore. However since then, TAS haven't done much for me. I bought 3750 based off hearing Smoke Ya Later, but the remainder of the album left a lot to be desired in comparison. I bought their album Continent on the night of the show and it didn't knock me off my feet me either; it had a powerful intro track, but the intensity and thus my interest waned from then on. I had just found their music to be too samey and repetitive, and the heavily-downtuned and ethereal nature of the music just let it slide in one ear and right out the other. There were a couple of tracks with distinguishable features here-and-there, but other than than, listening to the TAS was just a chuggy, throbbing drag.

By no means did I totally disregard the band, however, and I have since given the occasional listen. So when I saw Wormwood had been released, I figured I might as well give it a try. If I didn't like it so much, it would collect dust in my library similarly to the previous albums. Perhaps TAS had done something new and I'd really enjoy it - it wasn't like there was anything to lose. I checked out some reviews and was a little deterred; they often commented on the repetitive nature of the album, and how it feels like one long song; particularly since this is their longest album to date, at over 45 minutes. It basically sounded like typical, run-of-the-mill Acacia Strain to me. I didn't get my hopes up. In fact, I might have lowered by expectations to the "this is going to be 45 bad minutes of crap" zone. However, upon giving the album a listen, I was pleasantly surprised. The first song came and went, and it was okay. The second song came along, and it got better. Third, fourth, fifth, sixth... they all held distinguishing features, and they all held my interest. The album got me in the zone and managed to keep me there for it's entire duration. I came away from the first listen pumped and alert, not something I can say for many albums. Even the sludgy, ever-slowing 5-minute-breakdown outro track titled "Tactical Nuke" had a certain level of appeal.

Having since given it more listening, I can say it's not a superb album. It does what deathcore does: it chugs and thrashes along, and is laden with plenty of hate-driven lyrics. It sweeps you up in an adrenalin-fueled sensory assault, spiked with the occasional melodic passage or memorable vocal motif. It does have it's stand-out tracks, more so than any other TAS album, and the fact that it spreads these out through the whole album leads to an up & down, rise & fall journey that keeps you engaged. Pair this with the almost sludge-like nature of the music, and the overall experience is what I imagine falling in and out of consciousness in the apocalypse would sound like. The songs aren't amazing and the album not 100% solid, but not many bands can do better and it's a vast improvement over the Strain's previous albums, and a great feat for the band. It's an enjoyable effort and worth a checking out if the music's up your alley.

I have a deep, dark secret...

A guilty pleasure like none other I've ever had before. Those of you who know me know I'm not the kind of person to torture my ears with whatever drivel is generally played on the radio. Ever. I hold a certain disdain for pop music in general, and it mostly comes down to the greed & money aspect paired with usually a lack of any artistic merit. But today, that all changed. I listened to Ellie Goulding's album Lights.

As with many people who spend a lot of time in a workplace, I'm exposed to a lot of radio. Most of the time I just shut it out by ignoring it's existence or plugging in the earphones. Now & then they play something good like the Naked and Famous, and occasionally they play something I'm indifferent about like Ellie's single Starry Eyed. With enough exposure, this indifference developed into mild interest, and then eventually into appreciation. Sweet monkeycrapping Jesus Christ, a pop artist with a nice voice with unique and well-written songs! Pop music seems to usually just jump out of the radio and begin an incessant and intrusive assault on my ears, but Ellie's music whispered softly and sweetly and floated it's way straight through my high-security anti-pop music mental barrier.

The fact is, her music is different, and perhaps that's why there was never really a big fuss about her down here. Starry Eyes had it's moment of fame, and as of lately the airwaves seem reasonably devoid of any trace of Ellie. Her music is a lot more down to earth; lyrically it doesn't sound materialistic or promiscuous, and musically it's not over-produced, it's quite subtle. It sort of gently flows through the ear, enforcing a surrealistic dreaminess about the whole album. It's glittery, in a pretty and beautiful way, and the creativity of the artist behind this pop album proves that sometimes that which glitters is, in fact, gold.

Over on the MAG forums

I had a good little rant about players with high kill-to-death ratios. The topic was titled "why hate on KDR?", and was intended to reinforce the fact that a KDR in MAG is directly reflective of your skill, and thus as important as teamwork and tactics. And while I don't argue against that, I was sparked into response by a tangent the discussion took - about those players who wave their high KDR around like a banner that shouts "I'm a better player than you (and a d-bag too)". Those who seem to think that anybody with a lower KDR than them isn't entitled to an opinion.

I was a bit tired so it sounded a bit puked out, but it was obviously meaningful enough to gain kudos from some of the forum's respected regulars, and what I said may have some relevance across other FPS games. It basically served to bring these players off their imaginary thrones and back down to earth. And it goes as follows:


Super-Pangolin wrote:

People with a high KDR and keep it to themselves are good people, I can respect them.

 

Those who have a high KDR and rub it in other people's faces like they're superior, all-knowing MAG gods are **bleep**bags and shed bad light on the whole thing. Some people might be new to FPS games, or they might naturally be slower learners and take longer to adapt. Skill in MAG is basically reflective of the brain you're born with, it's capabilities and the way it functions.

 

Some people just adapt better to games and thus develop the skills much quicker. To parade your high K/D would be like me parading around the fact I was born a creative, artistically-minded person rather than an intellectual, academic person. It doesn't make me superior, my body and mind just function differently to everybody else. In the case of MAG and other FPS games, my body and mind don't function as effectively as some.

 

Then there are also people (such as myself), who challenge themselves. When I'm using a T2 AR I can maintain a 1.5-2.5 KDR and a grim-to-purple ribbon ration of 28. I'm no skilled player by any means but I'm definitely best when using an AR, though in the end I'll still choose a sniper rifle any day because it's more fun and more challenging to put up a lot of kills with.

 

Sure, be proud of your high KDR. Feel lucky that you are one of the skilled players. Just don't go pretending you're superior to those with lower KDR's and everybody will get along fine.




Jargon breakdown
KDR - Kill-to-Death Ratio. KDR of 2 means 2 kills to every death.
K/D - Kill/Death. See KDR.
T2 AR - Second tier Assault Rifle.
Grim-to-Purple ribbon ratio - a less common statistic used to judge skill. Grim Reaper and Purple Heart ribbons are awarded for 35 kills or 30 deaths in a match, respectively.

On the brink of leaving MAG...

... okay, maybe not "the brink" because that implies a sort of immediacy about the situation. But I'm anticipating being led astray from the path of good next year with the release of Brink, an FPS due to be released early-mid 2011. It seems perfect - contrasting slum/futuristic dystopian setting, clashing distinguishable sides, parkour-style gameplay and customization by the BOATLOAD. If you aren't sold yet, you will be after this:


I'm probably go security, using the style of the bug with one of these semi-auto weapons they're trying to pass as sniper rifles - that's right, this has got to be one of the only FPS games devoid of snipers. Apparently it was an attempt by the developers to eliminate camp tactics, but I think it's a little harsh on those of us who enjoy the more combat/assault playstyle of sniping.

I've recently taken a liking to a couple bands of the alternative/indie-ish genre, the one you probably won't have heard of being Operatic. A neat little band who featured on the soundtrack to a Tony Hawk's PS2 game years ago, they still never received the attention they deserved. They remained incredibly obscure, even the link to buy their album on their myspace doesn't work. Ladies & gentlemen, the musical stylings of Operatic:


The other band is The Naked and Famous, a band from here in New Zealand. If you've never heard of them, you either a) live under a rock or b) don't live in New Zealand. It's impossible to escape their music because it's played to death on the radio and TV - good job I rarely listen to the radio or watch music television, or I'd get sick of their great music and feel really bad about it. They've been around the local scene a few years but the single that shot them to fame was Young Blood. I don't think many people appreciated it for how well-written and extraordinary it was, and it was simply thought of as "OMG YAY, CATCHY POP ANTHEM ABOUT ME AS A YOUNG PERSON AND OH HEY, BLOOD EQUALS TWILIGHT". Their debut album Passive Me, Aggressive You is a surprisingly solid release for a New Zealand band, and worth checking out. My personal favorite track had a video made - ladies & gentlemen, I present to you Punching In A Dream:


There's a large amount of videos on this post, please apologize to your bandwidth on behalf on myself. I also went to see Parkway Drive, The Devil Wears Prada, The Ghost Inside and Antagonist AD a week and a bit ago on the 17th. To be honest, I could have died leaving The Ghost Inside's pit, and died a very happy man. I've been waiting for them to come down here for ages, and they didn't disappoint. They were fun, energetic and pumping, and had a very good crowd reaction from the musically uneducated majority of New Zealanders who had never heard of them.

I was at the front right in the beginning, shouting along the words to Unspoken, when Vigil saw me, pointed and smiled - the fanboy inside me wept beautiful tears. I also had post-set sweaty manhugs with KC and Vigil. Vigil was a little hesitant because he was getting swamped by fans and well-wishers, but KC came out during TDWP's set and hung around to chat. Thanks boys, probably best show of my life. My only complaint is that the crowd were a bunch of faux-metalhead d-bags who were headbanging at a hardcore show... I don't even need to explain further. TGI's setlist went Unspoken, Destined, Shiner, Greater Distance, Between The Lines, Provoke and Faith Or Forgiveness. Chrono and Disintegrator would have topped off the awesomeness, but I'm not going to complain.

Opinions on the MAG beta's weapons.

I gave pretty detailed opinions of everything in the beta except the weaponry, so here I shall explain how I regard the arsenal added to MAG for the beta. Performance doesn't vary much between the guns so this is mostly about aesthetics.

GOTHA ELITE
a.k.a. "the Gotha"

I'm not sure where I get the notion from, but I'm sure if Batman had to use a gun he'd use the Gotha. It's a ninja's assault rifle - accurate, quick, and with a silencer it's, well... silent. I find that if I get ninja'd by an enemy, and they have the Gotha, I accept it easier because, well hey, they're a ninja. Then I find them. And kill them. And take their Gotha.

TAMSEN MK2
a.k.a. "ol' Tamsie"

Aaah, ol' Tamsie. Never quite cut it for me. I found it to have poorer accuracy than it's counterparts, and I'd much rather just run with SVER's AG or AK. Plus I always thought it looked a little funny. I still may pick it up from time to time.

M31 CIR
a.k.a. "that ACR"

I quickly warmed up to that ACR, it's performance is great - even without any of the assault abilities I could still get a hell of a lot of kills with it. It does what an assault rifle should do. I found it's effectiveness in CQC and mid-range limited, making close-range combat it's niche.

KINMARK SRS
a.k.a. "THE KINMAARRK, serious"

I LOVE THE KINMARK. Not sure why, maybe it's 'cause I've always been a sucker for bull-pup design guns in MAG (though it has 2 magazines, weird huh?). It's sleek and black and satisfying to use. I don't necessarily do that well with it, but it's still great fun. Now that Raven have the Gotha, and now this, I might have to vet there to stay...

RUBAKHO SVR
a.k.a. "the Rhubarb-o"

The Rhubarb-o, meh. As with 'ol Tamsie, SVER weaponry let me down again and just didn't cut it. It performed well enough - it's just a downright ugly weapon. It looks seaworthy, like an ocean freighter made of bad rhubarb impaled on a colossal metal rod. The whole thing felt like it may fall apart every time I fired a shot or reloaded, I found that I just prefer the aesthetics of the S-98 (which doesn't look like it's going to fall over with a high-power scope).

SENTINEL M421
a.k.a. "the mini-Rollins"

Mini-Rollins... forget what I said about vetting to Raven to stay, the Sentinel has secured my heart back in Valor. I was a bit iffy about it at first. The scope is ridiculously close to the headrest, it feels like it takes up the whole damn screen (but you don't hip-fire bolt-actions, so no problem there). The sound of it firing, reloading, cocking... it all felt kinda flimsy. But that's all part of the Sentinel's charm, it's like the hunting bow of MAG sniper rifles. Throw a suppressor, bipod and variable scope onto it with lvl 3 zoom and you've got my new favorite sniper setup.

KP21
a.k.a. "hey, a flamethrower"

HOLY CRAP, what a gun. It fires like CHUGGA CHUGGA CHUGGA. This was the first new MMG I used, so it was the one I was most excited about. At range it's downright useless, but those who come against you with one of these in your hands at close-quarters better pray to the Gods that you don't tear them to utter shreds. It's especially fun to pretend it's a flamethrower (hey, it nearly looks like one) and run head-long into your enemy at point-blank range, never releasing the trigger. Hey, he just crapped his pants.

ARIET SFW
a.k.a. "MAG's Companion Cube"

Yet again, another underwhelming SVER weapon in terms of performance (poor SVER getting the shaft with beta weapons). I like the Companion Cube though, it has a certain charm. Charm being that using it looks like you're carrying a box that GLOWS PINK (hence the Portal reference). I'm no good with gun terminology, but the hatch where you unload the magazine into has glowing pink screws, and a face of the inside radiates brightly pink when you go to reload. This glitch will probably get fixed, which is a bit of a shame. PS. it sounds nice.

M245
a.k.a. "I CAN BE RAMBO, HUR"

I've not yet used much of the Rambo gun, but sweet merciful mother of MAG this gun is huge. Good job Valor are muscly, tank-top wearing macho men (who were founded by the Village People), otherwise they could hardly lift it. From my experiences using it, unless you're a bipod MG kinda person it's HIGHLY impractical to use, but you feel like a badass using it with a foregrip.

MAG beta-rification


The MAG beta dropped recently, to just about some of the mixed responses I've seen in my life. Being an online-only game the community is vital which is why the feedback and opinions have been flooding in. There's the good and the bad by the fistfuls, but I'll take the time to detail my own personal opinions.

The Good!
I'll start with the new game mode, Escalation. In particular, the maps. Just wow. These maps are superbly designed - leaps and bounds different that anything else in MAG. Barren, open, rolling hills dotted with buildings that aesthetically remind one of BF2142 - they're a lot of fun, and with the game mode being so chaotic it's hard to know where anything is coming from. Though the gameplay of Escalation is a little shaky, it's still fun and I'm sure it'll settle down once people get a grasp of it.


Now the weapons. I've given all decent time, trying out the (beastly) Kinmark, Sentinel, KP21, Gotha and Tamsen. Overall impression is that they are a welcome addition to the game, and once straightened out by the beta I'll be sure to pick 'em up. I've taken a particular interest in the sniper rifles - instantly falling in love with the Kinmark. The Sentinel however... I dunno, it just feels flimsy and small. I'll give it more time, and next play around I'll try to use SVER's Rhubarb-o or whatever it's called. The new MMGs are superb, their slow rate of fire and appalling hip-fire accuracy mean they actually take skill to use: they certainly aren't n00bish run-n-gun weapons. As for the assault rifles, well, I'm not as ecstatic about them as I am the snipers but I'd still pick one up over one of the older rifles, especially the Gotha. I definitely think Raven got the better deal with beta weaponry.

And finally the new skill tree system. I thought MAG had great customisation as it was - this new tree takes it even further. The sheer amount of abilities to work on is astounding, and the fact you can choose the degree to which you perfect a skill makes for an even more personalised experience than before. It's execution is flawless - forcing players to make hard decisions and restrict the areas they specialise in - no more jacks-of-all-trades. Myself personally, I can no longer have all the sniper abilities, medical abilities, CQC abilities, athleticism abilities and electronics abilities like I used to - when compared to the old system we grew used to you have to make sacrifices, perhaps disadvantaging yourself in some aspect to gain advantage in another. Some may be angry about this but I take it as a challenge. Now, as a sniper, if I'm bested in a knife fight by a commando I can at least acknowledge that hey, it's his speciality, not mine.

The Bad...
First up - I love the implemention of the sprint abilities and the improved knife damage. Together though it's just getting ridiculous. You have people zipping across rooms and knifing you in the foot, killing you before your brain has even managed to register that they exist. I like the speed upgrades to an extent, and the knifes definitely needed altering, but if both were to be toned down a bit then they'd be perfect.


Next up is the Supply Depot addition. Don't get me wrong, I think it's a great idea. What I have an issue with are the level requirements and the costs of some of these things. Some of the requirements need to be a lot less harsh - this game is was difficult for newcomers as it was. If some of the costs and level requirements were lowered, even slightly just to make them a little less steep, I'd be all for the Supply Depot. Plus some of the items need better descriptions, some of the less-experienced players will have no idea what they're buying.

And finally the re-spec point system to accompany the new skill tree. Not only is it now 5000 no matter what, re-spec points don't stack. Once you reach 5000, that's it - it stops, and if you want to re-spec again you have to have gathered another 5000. Zipper need to make prices and costs in the beta a little less dire, it's totally ridiculous what newbies are having to put up with.

All in all I'm looking forward to where the beta is going. It's got a different feel to the retail version, a little more polished as an FPS, and for MAG it's a change for the good.

Do any Kiwis remember Stylus?

Their only album Gain Control really is a shining example of New Zealand talent. They had a brief moment of small-scale national popularity, infrequently appearing on pop and rock music programming here (internationally I bet they're unheard of). Their music of course was not suited for the ears of our public, whose airwaves consist of either the pop garbage big enough in the UK and USA to sell here or our own poor talent. The music of Stylus was hard to categorize and still remains so: a sort of funk rock, punk, indie-esque, hip-hoppish body with catchy choruses and subtle dark tones bordering metal, which leads them to only really be captured under the term "alternative rock" (though that does them no justice). Despite varying their music and constantly mixing it up the music manages to retain a sense of consistency that separates them from being identified as progressive or experimental. I know that a member went on to play bass for I Am Giant, but other than that God knows where the rest are.


Okay, most know I'm half-n-half when it comes to downloading music. If you like the band, buy the music, a shirt, show your support. The problem is that if you don't live in NZ you will NOT be able to find Gain Control. If you do find it in NZ, chances are it's second hand. Not only that, but the band are on hiatus. So to those unfortunate enough to now own the album or find it anywhere, I've put Gain Control up for download right here.

Ugh. Winter and repair medals.

I've been up & down with wellbeing the last couple of weeks, having spent more time off school than in there getting good work done. And though I've tried my best to get as much schoolwork done whilst at home I can't help but feel like as soon as I return I'm gonna get thumped by a wall of work to catch up on. Ah well, despite feeling under the weather I haven't had the worst of times (it's hard to be down on a day full of Black Books).

One thing I've managed to get plenty of is MAG. After playing it for 250+ hours I realised how close I am to my first Playstation platinum trophy, so the last few days have been grinding in an attempt to get a large portion of the in-game medals and ribbons out of the way: for repairing. Sweet Jesus, I have huge respect for the players who by will grasp their repair kit in hand and zap the magical welding flashy stick every day. Seriously, I've never been so bored, frustrated and distressed whilst gaming. Especially whilst getting the harder medals - though I did find a great method of obtaining the AAA repair medal. For those who play Valor, first platoon defending Domination. Sneak past enemy lines, repair the AAA, then hide in the red shack by the attacker's bridge or in the bushes surrounding it. I managed to get 8 repairs into one match this way, repairing it, hiding, and watching from the bushes as squad after squad of pissed-off soldiers stormed by grumbling about the magical self-repairing AAA. It's also great to top it off by blowing up the bridge to further delay their assault when the AAA is back up & fending them back. During my repairing stint I must say I've also formulated the perfect Field Support/Commando loadout. Shotgun, silenced Pistol, Sensor Jammer, Medical Kit and Repair Kit with improved light armor. Flawless for the whole support business. Now onto LMG and AR ribbons!

The folks at Zipper also dropped a bomb on the community today: the good kind of bomb, the one that makes people love you. Without a doubt the greatest additions to their game yet. An entirely new game mode with maps that look stunning, 3 new weapons for each faction with a revised skill point and credit system. I won't explain it in the detail they have but if you're interested check out the blog post.

Another thing I've done with my time off is to arrive to a shocking verdict on an issue with my music listening habits: I'm going to stop using last.fm. I've been scrobbling to last.fm for about a year and a half now and I keep finding myself in positions of musical desensitization, ie. I just can't enjoy listening to music at times. I traced the issue to it's source by accident one day when I pondered playing my iPod on shuffle but I dismissed it because I thought "no, it might play something like Collective Soul and I don't want people to think I really actually to them". Then it hit me, the amount of times I've not listened to an artist because I want more plays for another or because it wouldn't look good on my profile. I, like most people, would like to claim that they don't care what others think about them. But I'd be lying to myself, it's just who I am as a person. I tend to often think about people's impressions of me and I try my best to avoid situations of being observed. But that's what last.fm was doing: throwing out me and my private listening habits on public display. And though it was self-inflicted and seemingly harmless, it's harmed the way I enjoy music.

So I've removed the last.fm scrobbler from my dock and logged out from the site for what I believe to be a very long time. I'm going to try and weed out this approach to listening I've developed. I'm still going to keep my profile there just in case, and I will scrobble my iPod plays at irregular intervals if I feel like it, just to keep some sort of accuracy to my profile. If I don't like what's happening, I'll uninstall the scrobbler and remove my profile.

Well it's been a pretty dece update if you enjoy MAG but other than that not much interesting to see here. That's all, guys! Oh, and keep up with Ctrl+Alt+Del.

Okay, I lied.

No more posts last month. Nothing interesting enough for me to pull myself away from MAG I guess. I'm only here now because my ISP had a hiccup a couple of days ago and the aftermath has caused my latency to crap out. Browsing the internet it fine, every now and then it just slows down. Online gaming does not take kindly to this however, and disconnects me from any game I try to play to stop me lagging everybody else out.

Comeback Kid have a new album coming out late this month, and it hauls ass. Seriously, if you're a CBK fan or a fan of the hardcore/punk variety in general check this stuff out, I think CBK have delivered above & beyond again and have added another album to add to my troubles of trying to pick a favorite.



I've been off sick the last couple of days but I used the time to a) try to figure out what was wrong with my internet, and b) make another menu concept for art design. It took me a good few hours, I played with 3D/glossy effects and I haven't had much experience in that area. For drafts I think they've turned out quite nicely.


Wow, 3 weeks?

I'm slacker than I thought. I didn't mean for a few weeks to fly by before my next update.

And yes, if you're familiar with Battlefield 2142 you will notice that it's icon is sitting in my dock. It doesn't run too badly suprisingly, for the low price I paid for it, it performs fine save for the odd server lag problems. I played a load against bots and I've only played a couple of full-length online matches but I'll definitely get into it more when I'm done with MAG. And SOCOM: Confrontation. Ooo, and I bought CoD4: Modern Warfare as well (the second one was terrible but this one's great). So maybe not for a while, but anyone with PSN who's down for some shooting until then add me on Super-Pangolin (dur).

I'll try get in one more update (about whatever) before month's end.

Gheez, I really am quite slack.

I've been meaning to update for about a week but I seriously have just not been bothered. Banner Pilot are top of my charts by a long shot, I finally checked out their 2 full-lengths and I've hardly been able to listen to anything else. Seriously good.

I don't know where any of you stand on the PC vs. Mac thing, but to be honest, as a designer (and somebody who is just plain lazy) I prefer the aesthetics of Mac. To make your Windows feel homey you have to do all sorts of tinkering, something I could never be bothered doing. Macs come already nice-looking. This all said, this coming from the standpoint of a console gamer, not a computer gamer. I won't deny that Macs are shoddy at best for games. I recently spruced up my desktop and it looks pretty neat. The hardest part? Making the background. It just isn't this easy on PC, plus they hate me anyway. One of the ones at school whirred and clanked when I sat down next to it.


Click the pretty big picture to download the wallpaper. It's made for Mac so I don't know how it'll look on Windows.

The year my blog ended in June.

Wow, my lack of activity is depressing. Not real-life activity; that's what's been distracting me. Taking Media Studies, making Art Design difficult for oneself, and sorting out one's future seem to drain you of any will to live. This will however, is easily replenished by playing video games. So basically that's where all my attention has been going.

I kept seeing my blog and feeling a twinge of sadness at how bare it's becoming, but the promise of playing MAG after so much stress from education lured me elsewhere. So basically, June flew by without a single update. So I'm making this post now to make sure the blog doesn't die. There's not really been anything exciting to update on - I've decided to stay in school, MW2's awesomeness faded away dramatically and The Ghost Inside remain at the forefront of my charts. Besides them, sanity-keeping artists are as follows...

Those of you who aren't hardcore savvy won't have noticed this post's nod to Misery Signals through it's title. Though my level of interest in them comes and goes, I never forget how much of a complete hardcore/metal masterpiece their album Controller is. I just don't get how their earlier material is so widely-praised over this album. Unlike the previous two, it's the only album of theirs I believe to be consistent, with each song playing a vital part to the album as a whole. It's one of the only albums I can claim to be perfect from start to end. An atmospheric journey of sorts, from the chaotic prog-metal laden beginning all the way to the beautiful, crushing end. Everything they do with metalcore is so original, they manage to take such a bland, despised and marketable genre and perform it with a hugely creative flair, reaching artistic levels unmatched in the hardcore/metal scene.



A great find recently has been Periphery, new to the metal scene with their debut self-titled being a month or so old. They made their name on guitar forums and are one of the bands to pioneer the genre of "Djent", a term given to the technical and complex style of metal they play. Perhaps not one for the true metal fans; they do tend to throw in a bit of metalcore chug and the clean vocals have been slandered left, right and centre. Though adding a feeling of accessibility for non-metal fans, I think these aspects perfectly compliment their music, never throwing it's progressive nature off-balance.



Another great find, and possibly one of the greatest I will ever document, is that of Counterparts and their new album Prophets. Donning the 2-step-posi-brocore-style hardcore/metal banner, they proceed to wave it upon the pole of melodic beauty. It's kind of like that A Day to Remember gimmick of "hey, let's get cliche chugga-chugga hardcore and make it melodic and catchy" except the Counterparts method isn't a complete disaster, it's the opposite - impressively fresh and wildly successful. They're a newcomer in that circle of melodic hardcore, housing bands such The Ghost Inside, For the Fallen Dreams and Misery Signals, and just like the Canadians they are they had to go and, dare I say, beat the Americans at their own game of being awesome.



Gaming wise, I totally dropped Modern Warfare 2. That game is absolutely awful. Everything is overpowered to combat something else that's overpowered. And you don't even get the overpowered stuff unless you grind your way through agonizing matches for hours. Don't get me wrong; Campaign mode was actually pretty good, and I've heard the co-op mode is better. But Multiplayer... what a disaster. 3/4 times I was killed, it was either some guy zipping around at the speed of light blasting me in the face wielding DUAL SHOTGUNS (seem unlikely to anybody else?), some guy camping in a corner or on a roof with a heartbeat sensor, waiting for people to run by so as he could kill them with the cheapest Assault Rifle, or the best yet - some guy's Helicopter or Harrier raining missiles and turret fire upon my head (these are Killstreak rewards - given to people kicking your ass to help them kick your ass even harder). Everything in this game is ass-backwards and hardly agreeable for an FPS game.

And so I gladly returned to waste away hours of my life playing MAG - which, by the way, has had it's first DLC released by Zipper. Some heavier armor (that's saved my skin numerous times) and a new game mode, Interdiction. Sadly, not many people have bought it yet/play it so I've only managed to squeeze in several games of the newly abbreviated "Int", and after long queue waits too. I must say though, Interdiction is some of the most chaotic fun I've ever had in gaming. Sovot Motorway, my personal preference of the 3 maps, is probably my favorite MAG map to date. You'll find yourself zipping in-and-out of bombed-out apartment blocks and scaling your way around the motorway itself in a dusty, arid middle-eastern style setting. These maps are not small either - if you lose your APC it can be a lengthy half-a-kilometer sprint to your objective. Well done Zipper, a little late and unsuccessful delivering to the community but I know myself and many others appreciate it.



I've also recently gotten SOCOM Confrontation, but I don't have a mic and as a result haven't experienced it to it's fullest, so I won't say anything yet. I've been spending spare time at school on the computers, regularly checking The Oatmeal and Ctrl+Alt+Del, good for a laugh and to pass the time. Sorry to all the readers *cough* who are disappointed in a lack of updates. This ramble hopefully makes up for it.

The Ghost Inside return triumphantly.

I'm sure you've all noticed how dead this blog has been. I've been too buys to post because I've either been a) sorting out my life in the build up for leaving high school, or b) playing video games (MW2 is surprisingly fun). I'd been without a gaming console for two weeks and it had begun to get to my head, the crazy started creeping in, so I've been making up for lost time when I'm not researching design schools and qualifications and companies and such. One thing that worth posting about that has stirred me into action, however, is the leak of the new TGI album...

Okay. So I'm not the much the kind of person to download music from an incredibly talented band, but The Ghost Inside promised us, the fans, an early 2010 release for their new album Returners. What did they do? With a fully recorded and completed album, what's the next step? Hey, let's just delay the release until June! To build hype? Who knows! Sorry guys, Fact released an album in April '09, announced a new full-length in October '09, and had it released by January '10. That's the kind of efficiency in delivery that bands can learn from. Bitterness aside, I was left a stunned frullet upon giving the album a listen. And I can confirm that I will, without a doubt, even having downloaded a high-quality leak, DEFINITELY be purchasing the album (and some merch).

I adored their first album Fury And The Fallen Ones, and I highly doubted, along with nearly any band that's ever existed, that TGI would be able to surpass the soaring levels of musical perfection their debut reached. However, my expectations of the album climbed higher and higher with each new track added to their myspace, until after the 3rd addition I was questioning my lack of faith in these guys. When I had heard the album had leaked from a couple of friends, and all their ranting and raving about it's exceptionality, I couldn't resist. And boy, did the album deliver. There's a definite progression from their previous release, they've moved on from their comfortable niche of balanced chug-n-melody and instead Returners contrasts these elements of their unique brand of hardcore.

The result is a sort of combination of Misery Signals-esque melodic guitar work laden with (dare I say it) Bury Your Dead-style breakdowns. This album seems to be TGI's take on the material of another one of their similar artists, For The Fallen Dreams. FTFD fans may cry, but it appears TGI have beaten them at their own game (and that's no easy feat). The vocals are harsher, the chuggy chuggier, the melody melodic-er and the mood of the whole album a little further on the serious side. The band have definitely matured, and heck, I'll reluctantly admit IMPROVED. And when the album drops on June 8th, I'll ensure that I have a copy waiting with my name written, scrawled and engraved all over it.